Return to Students


Graduated research students

All qualifications PhD unless otherwise specified. Links provided to theses on the Cranfield CERES repository where available.


Zincheng Wang ‘Investigation of disc brake interface strain distributions using optical fibre Bragg sensors’ (2023).


Angus Bridges ‘Optical metrology to support the next generation of nanopositioning’ (2022).
– Lord Kings-Norton medal winner.

Samantha Gibson ‘Dual-wavelength laser speckle technique for absolute angle sensing in two dimensions’ (2022).

Kieran Wiseman ‘Novel applications and stabilisation for widely wavelength modulated laser interferometry for precision dimensional metrology’ (2022).


Laura Aime ‘Development of an optical fibre pressure sensor for F1 applications’ (2021).

James Bremner ‘Fibre-coupled, multiplexed methane detection using range-resolved interferometry’ (2021).


Antonio Rendon-Romero ‘Fibre optic sensor with biologically active coatings for the detection of cells‘ (2019).


James BarringtonDesign and fabrication of optical fibre long period gratings for CO2 sensing‘ (2018).

Evangelos RigasDual-beam swept-source optical coherence tomography for microfluidic velocity measurements‘ (2018).

Nicholas DavisMid-infrared spectroscopic instrumentation for airborne monitoring of atmospheric gas species‘ (2018).


Alex TothillDeveloping a proof of principle 3D-printed lab-on-a-disc assay platform‘ (2017).


Kevin MullaneyThe fabrication of micro-tapered optical fibres for sensing applications‘ (2016).

Mark MandersInterferometric fibre optic sensors incorporating photonic crystal fibre, for the measurement of strain and load‘ – MPhil (2016).

Sarah BerginPathlength calibration of integrating sphere based gas cells‘ (2016).


Thomas KissingerRange-resolved optical interferometric signal processing‘ (2015) – Lord Kings-Norton medal winner.

Abdullah AsmariA novel laser diode wavelength stabilisation technique for use in high resolution spectroscopy‘ (2015).

Sahar ChowdhuryFibre optic hydrogen sensing for long term use in explosive environments‘ (2015).


Ian BledowskiFrequency-division-multiplexing technique for imaging metrology‘ (2014).

John DavenportUV spectroscopic instrumentation for formaldehyde detection in the indoor environment‘ (2014).

Rebecca WongAdvanced fibre optic long period grating sensors; design, fabrication and sensing‘ (2014).


Matthew PartridgeFibre-optic sensors with molecular coatings‘ (2012).


Stephen Topliss ‘Optical fibre long period grating sensors with nanostructured coatings‘ (2011).


Renata Jarzebinska ‘Tapered optical fibre sensors employing nanostructured coatings‘ (2010).

Ryadh ZakariaNDIR instrumentation design for Carbon Dioxide gas sensing‘ (2010).


Dackson MasiyanoUse of diffuse reflections in tunable diode laser spectroscopy‘ (2009).

Richard Reeves ‘Demodulation and de-multiplexing of a fibre Bragg grating sensor array using volume holograms‘ (2009).


Daniel FrancisSurface strain measurement using pulsed laser shearography with fibre-optic imaging bundles‘ (2008) – School of Engineering PhD prize winner.

Zenghai LuInterferometric filter-based planar Doppler velocimetry‘ (2008).

Georgios SarantavgasInvestigation of a fibre-optic Fizeau interferometer configuration and coherent fibre-optic imaging bundles for optical coherence tomography‘ (2008).

Ricardo CorreiaDevelopment of a pore pressure sensor employing fibre Bragg gratings‘ (2008).

Stephen BuggyComposite material process monitoring using optical fibre grating sensors‘ (2008).

Richard MurphyFrequency domain signal processing and multiplexing of fibre optic long period grating based interferometric sensors‘ (2008).


Thomas CharrettDevelopment of two-frequency planar doppler velocimetry instrumentation‘ (2006).

Pierre CasaubieilhFibre optic fizeau intererometer for optical coherence tomography‘ (2006).

Imran IshaqFibre-optic long period gratings with nano-structured overlays‘ (2006).


Sammy CheungAn investigation of chirped fibre Bragg gratings Fabry-Perot interferometer for sensing applications‘ (2005).

Firas Al-SawafEfficient phase unwrapping‘ (2005).


Ruth Beddows ‘An analysis of fibre optic interferometer configurations for optical coherence tomography‘ (2004).


Sarfraz Khaliq ‘Fibre-optic long period gratings for sensing applications‘ (2003).

Simon ReillyTuneable and switchable dual wavelength laser diodes using fibre Bragg grating external cavities‘ (2003).

Lazarre Kassi ‘Automation of Fibre Bragg grating fabrication system’ – MSc by Research (2003).



Edmond Chehura ‘Laser Doppler velocimetry using in-fibre Bragg grating¬†Fabry-Perot interferometers‘ (2002).

Gerald Byrne3-D fibre optic laser Doppler anemometry for applications in turbomachinery‘ (2002).


Roger GrovesDevelopment of shearography for surface strain measurement of non-planar objects‘ (2001).

Richard OdicRaman optical time domain reflectometry for aircraft fire overheat detection and monitoring‘ (2001).

Martin O’Dwyer ‘Implementation and appraisal of an in-Fibre Bragg grating quasi-distributed health and usage monitoring system with applications to advanced materials’ (2001).


Itziar BalboaLow coherence fibre optic speckle interferometry‘ (2000).

Karl BamfordAn investigation of optical radar and low coherence interferometry for the detection of precancerous tissue‘ (2000).

Suki Johal ‘Second harmonic generation in Langmuir-Blodgett waveguide overlays coated into single-mode optical fibres‘ (2000).


David Egan ‘In-line fibre optic laser Doppler velocimetry for turbomachinery applications‘ (1999).

Clare Chatterjea ‘Laser diode based FMCW interrogation of fibre optic grating sensor arrays‘ (1999).


Damian FlanneryFibre optic chemical sensing using Langmuir-Blodgett overlay waveguides‘ (1998).

Alan Wilson ‘Interrogating techniques for short gauge length optical fibre sensors‘ (1998).


Michael Dockney ‘Fabrication of wavelength division multiplexed in-fibre Bragg grating arrays for structural monitoring applications‘ (1997).


Robert Lockey ‘Optoelectronic time-division multiplexing for multicomponent laser doppler anemometry‘ (1996).

Abdel EzbiriPassive signal processing techniques for miniature fibre Fabry-Perot interferometric sensors‘ (1996).

Jen-Rong Huang ‘Optoelectronic speckle shearing interferometry‘ (1996).


Robbie ChartersContinuous fibre optic components utilising evanescent coupling to organic thin films‘ (1995) – Lord Kings-Norton medal winner.

John Edwards ‘High-sensitivity Faraday-effect magnetometry using multiple-beam optical fibre interferometry‘ – MPhil (1995).


Helen Ford ‘Optical fibre wavelength filters and multiplexers‘ (1994) – Lord Kings-Norton medal winner.

Christopher DuffyStimulated Brillouin Scattering In Monomode Optical Fibres For Sensing And Signal Processing Applications‘ (1994).

Omer KhanOptical frequency shifter using stimulated Brillouin scattering in fibre optic ring resonators‘ (1994).

Clive BuckberryA TV Holographic interferometer for use with¬†engineering applications‘ (1994).


Hashim Atcha ‘Optoelectronic speckle pattern interferometry‘ (1993).

Richard MartinFull-field optical Doppler anemometry‘ – MPhil (1993).


Stephen AntrobusDevelopment of a miniature fibre optic laser Doppler velocimeter for 3D flow measurement in turbomachinery‘ – MPhil (1992).